Welcome to the Crib

Things in the crib have changed a lot over the past three years. Earlier in 2012, I gave birth to twin girls. At the time my son was 22 months old. So having three children in three years results in some lifestyle changes.

Firstly, I no longer get to drive a sporty car. I drive a minivan. With one child you can get away with your sporty car. With two you are likely going to be relegated to a semi-stylish SUV. However, with 3 children (and requirements for 3 car seats) you cross over that threshold and enter minivan-land.

Secondly, I had to renovate my main floor. Not extensively, but I moved my laundry room down to the basement. Why? Because I needed the space that was my laundry room as a mud room. I live I a land that has ice and snow 4 months of the yea. I can’t truck kids out the front door and across an icy driveway to load them into my minivan in the middle of winter.

Lastly, I hired someone to clean my house. I finally realized that I simply don’t have a block of 2 hours in my week to do this. Ever. So every two weeks someone comes to make my house sparkling clean from basement to bedrooms. This state of order lasts until approximately 8 minutes after the cleaners leave my house.

So my point is, when kids come into your life things will change. Embrace it – get help, move what needs to be moved, and get rid of the things that no longer work for you.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to the Crib

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging! I love your theme…very classy.

    Moving your laundry room to the basement was brilliant. Our back mudroom is so tiny. We’re considering knocking the closet out and putting in built-in cubbies, but this likely won’t happen. Most days, it’s amazing our twins get fed.

  2. Leanne – thanks for your comment! My kids are young enough that feeding them is still one sure way to stop them from crying, so feeding them isn’t a concern. I have been known, however, to pitch a box of cereal across the room at my husband when he’s asked, “What’s for dinner??”
    😉

Leave a comment