Anatomy of a Whoozit (Or Is That What I Think It Is??)

Like many moms, I received a ton of gifts from friends and relatives when my firstborn arrived. One of these, given to me by an old high-school friend, continues to be one of my favourites. It’s a plush toy that hangs on baby’s crib or stroller. I used it with my son and now my daughters play with it. I love this toy not because it’s educational or award-winning (which it is) or because I think it’s going to help my kids get into Harvard someday. I love this toy because it makes me snicker like a pre-teen boy every time I look at it.

It’s a Whoozit and its made by the fine folks at Manhattan Toy. What is a Whoozit exactly? Made with velour and other high-contrast fabric, it is a round stuffed face that has rattles, a squeeker and crinkle paper to supposedly jump-start your little ones senses. It’s got round yellow eyes, a big pink grin and an enormous red nose. It’s also got seven appendages sticking out around it to give little hands lots to grab onto.

Now it strikes me that these appendages have obvious anatomical equivalents. There are two appendages with yellow stars on the ends that appear to be attenae, two that end in red hearts that equate to arms, two with pink circles at the bottom that I see as legs and one that hangs between the legs with a green triangle at the tip. Yes, one. The only one that does not have a pair. That has a triangle at the end. Obviously, it is the Whoozit’s penis.

Now maybe you’re thinking I’ve got a dirty mind (guilty!) or that I’m being totally juvenile (got me again!) but have a look and tell me if you think I’m wrong.

So I’m left to wonder why, in all their wisdom, the fine folks at Manhattan Toy would choose to make the Whoozit so… anatomically correct. I certainly don’t think it’s for the benefit of my 6-month-olds. They’re still working on the distinction between their toes and their elbows. Even my two-year-old, who is at a stage where he’s quite entralled with his own representation of malehood, doesn’t see this connection. Or if he does he hasn’t made mention of it. Which he generally does. Quite loudly (Mommy doeeesssn’t have a penis! Daddy dooeees have a penis!!). So perhaps the Whoozit’s penis is simply there to make mommies laugh. Because not only does Mr. Whoozit have a penis but he’s quite well-endowed, too (it’s as long as his arm for heaven sake!). Barbie’s buddy Ken should be so lucky.

Do you have favourite toy belonging to your kids? Or one that just makes you laugh? 

2 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Whoozit (Or Is That What I Think It Is??)

Leave a comment